The CC Spin is produced by students at Contra Costa County public high schools.  Story development is supervised by the journalism advisers at the participating schools. Professional journalists coach the students and guide their reporting and writing. Staff members from local journalism outlets and retired journalists instruct participating students in professional journalism standards and practices. 

The CC Spin is a product of the collaboration of The Lesher Foundation, the Contra Costa County Office of Education and the California Scholastic Journalism Initiative.

All opinions expressed in CC Spin are the views of the student authors only and do not represent the opinion of the Lesher Foundation, the Contra Costa County Office of Education, the California Scholastic Journalism Initiative, or any school, district or county educational authority,

CC Spin is a product of student journalists and is guided by the tenets of The First Amendment, the ethical guidelines of the Society of Professional Journalists and the California Education Code, specifically sections 45907 and 48950.

If you are a student interested in contributing to CC Spin or a teacher interested in having your students participate, contact Steve O’Donoghue at [email protected].



Melissa Stafford Jones
Executive Director
Lesher Foundation

Terry Koehne
Chief Communications Officer
Contra Costa County Office
of Education

Steve O’Donoghue
California Scholastic Journalism
Initiative, Coordinator

Jim Finefrock, Writing Coach
Bruce Koon Writing Coach
Carol Pogash, Writing Coach
Dick Rogers, Writing Coach

Casey Nichols, Webmaster

Printing by
FolgerGraphics Printing
Hayward, California



Natalie Moore, Acalanes High School
Brian Barr, California High School
Thomas Gagnie, De Anza High School
Rachel Decker, Dougherty Valley High School
Myriam Godfrey, Kennedy High School
Masin Persina, Making Waves Academy
Donia Gousios, Miramonte High School
Paige Crawford, Monte Vista High School
Karen Jenkins , Northgate High School
Ralph Bedwell, Pinole Valley High School
Maya Kosover, Richmond High School
Joseph Alvarico, Ygnacio Valley High School



  • Jaime Lattan, Acalanes High School
  • Emmy Burros, California High School
  • Christine Oh, California High School
  • Alyssa Earnest, DeAnza High School
  • Caroline Lobel, Dougherty Valley High School
  • Owen Spargo, Dougherty Valley High School
  • Adaley Perez, Making Waves Academy
  • Allison Petak, Miramonte High School
  • Audrey Allen, Miramonte High School
  • Alisha Nazar, Miramonte High School
  • Angelina Izmaylova, Monte  Vista High School
  • Adelaide Berret, Northgate High School
  • Glendy Jimenez, Pinole Valley High School
  • Izabella Ge, San Ramon Valley High School
  • Ashley Hernandez, Richmond High School